If you’ve ever set foot in a bookworm’s bedroom, the first thing you’ll notice are the books. In fact, there are probably so many books that the dusty shelves are creaking under the weight of limited edition hardcovers and dog-eared paperbacks.

Advertisement

This lack of space can lead people to wonder what they should do with their own books. Fortunately, there are a host of brilliant ereaders available, with the Amazon Kindle being the best of the bunch. And these devices solve the problem of space.

And that’s far from the only reason to buy a Kindle, even if you’re a fan printed books. So, in this article, we tell you why you should buy a Kindle, even if you love “real” books.

1. The Single Biggest Reason to Buy a Kindle…

Should I Get a Kindle

Forget the Kindle Store. Forget the convenience of having thousands of books on a single device no thicker than a pencil. Put aside the robust, well-built hardware that survives even the most careless of users.

The single biggest reason why the Kindle is awesome is because it’s really easy to use. There’s no learning curve and very few bells or whistles.

Front and center of this reading experience is the screen itself. The Kindle Paperwhite, the most popular Kindle model, uses E Ink Carta technology. With a visual appearance similar to printed words on a sheet of paper, the Paperwhite also has a dimmable screen for reading late at night, and no glare on sunny days.

Additionally, the latest version of Amazon’s E Ink screens refresh almost immediately, so there’s little to no lag.

The Kindle battery can also run for weeks on end while slowly sipping electricity. This makes reading on a Kindle just as easy, if not easier, than reading a printed book.

Moreover, unlike old-school books:

  • You don’t have to worry about bent pages or bookmarks falling out; you’ll never accidentally lose your place in a story.
  • You can highlight passages without ruining the page, or see what other people have highlighted.

This winning combination of easy-to-use features has people reading far more than they otherwise would.

2. Should I Buy a Kindle If I Read at Night?

Should I Buy a Kindle If I Read in Bed?

Lots of us read late at night, but hardcover books aren’t always great for reading in bed. Having a lamp on for too long can also cause eye strain.

This is why Amazon Kindle is great for night owls.

The reason for this? In all modern Kindle devices (ranging from the Paperwhite to the Oasis), there are small LED lights located beneath the screen. This LED system makes sure the screen is lit up just enough for you to read late at night, but not enough that the backlight can disrupt your sleep schedule.

Sleep disruptions caused by backlights are common with phones and laptops, but with Kindle devices, the LED system has a natural, soft white light. It can be manually adjusted for the amount of illumination you require, which ensures that you get the best of both worlds: sleep and entertainment.

3. Why Get a Kindle When I Can Buy Books in a Store?

Why Get a Kindle?

Because you can buy even more books through the Kindle Store, that’s why.

Before we praise the Kindle Store, we want to say that we’re well aware that book lovers enjoy the act of browsing a bookstore to find new content. There’s something magical about wandering the aisles, only to find the perfect book on sale.

It’s hard to replicate that feeling of nostalgia and adventure in an online setting. Fortunately, having a Kindle doesn’t stop you from browsing the shelves. In fact, it will actually increase your ability to hunt for the best book.

The Kindle Store is much larger than most physical buildings. At the last count, it had millions upon millions of titles available, which is huge.

Additional facts about the Kindle Store:

  • You can download free book “samples” to read at a later date.
  • When you buy a book, titles are delivered to your Kindle in seconds.
  • Every day, Amazon sells a wide range of top-tier novels and non-fiction books at knockdown prices. Some of these sales can bring book prices down to $2 a pop, which means that the sales are pretty hard to resist.

Seriously, Kindle is by far the best platform to impulse buy books at all hours of the day, and find new content.

4. Should I Buy a Kindle If I Use Goodreads?

How Do I Use Goodreads on Kindle

In 2013, Amazon acquired the book-based social network Goodreads for an undisclosed sum. While this move was initially quite controversial within the Goodreads community, since then, Amazon has largely maintained a hands-off approach to running the site.

The only thing that’s really changed? Amazon has slowly integrated support for Goodreads into all of its Kindle devices, making Goodreads one of the must-have mobile apps for book lovers







10 Must-Have Apps for Book Lovers

Love to read? You need these apps designed for bookworms. They’ll help you find new books, connect with others, and more.
Read More

around the world.

So long as you bought your Kindle from a supported Marketplace, your device should automatically have a Goodreads icon at the top of the screen. Through this integrated app function, you can:

  • See what your friends are reading, and rate the books that you’re reading via Goodreads, too—all without putting down your device.
  • Additionally, you can share passages that you think are interesting or meaningful.
  • You can also see recommendations based upon books you’ve previously purchased or rated.

This is a huge plus for book lovers, especially if you’re looking for ways to easily contribute to this millions-strong community of bibliophiles.

Why Buy a Kindle? Because It’s Awesome!

The Amazon Kindle isn’t perfect, but then, what is? However, we personally feel the advantages of owning a Kindle far outweigh the disadvantages.

For the majority of people, a Kindle offers the ideal way to read ebooks. They’re easy to use, have a low physical footprint, boast a long battery life, and a large storage capacity. And they’re pretty affordable too.

There are also plenty of apps and sites that can improve your Kindle experience







Got a New Kindle Reader? 5 Apps and Sites Every Kindle Owner Will Love

If you own a Kindle, then use these apps and sites to unlock its full potential and features.
Read More

. So, if you have the time, we suggest you read up on them too.

Source: Why You Should Buy a Kindle (Even If You Love Real Books)

By Shianne Edelmayer

Techylawyer and its authors do not claim to have written this article, we acknowledge the works of the original author

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here